Organic Aeroponic nutrient

I have avoided using any non-organic fertilizer and pesticides bought from shop for rooftop gardening. I have been using organics like kitchen compost, vermicompost, coffee grounds and tea extracts as fertilizers and ginger/chili/garlic/turmeric concoctions as pesticides. When i started aeroponics, I was tempted to use non-organic fertilizers because predominantly they were used for hydroponic and aeroponic systems and i couldn’t find any references to usage of organic nutrient in aeroponics.

Panchagavya:
But, i stuck with my organic way of gardening no matter what the result is. Never had great results from using panchagavya in conventional rooftop gardening. But surprisingly, in Aeroponics, panchagavya is giving good results. So, I prepared my own Panchagavya… a much cheaper version. 1 ltr panchagavya is sold ranging from Rs.100 to 500 in shops and online. My ingredients:

Fresh Cow Dung – 1 kg
ripe Bananas – 2
Sugarcane Juice – 400 ml
Milk – 200 ml
Curd – 100 ml
Groundnut cake – 200 gms
Neem cake – 50 gms

Have used groundnut cake instead of ghee. I believe ghee is used to increase stickiness when panchagavya is used as foliar spray. Since, panchagavya is mixed in water and applied as nutrient to the roots, i replaced ghee with groundnut cake. Ground nut cake is cheap as well as has lot of nutrients. Traces of neem cake is added to act as fungicide because i have heard a few farmers say that panchagavya encourages fungal infections. Skipped cow urine as i just couldn’t get it. All quantities are approximate.

My aeroponic reservoir has 20 ltr capacity. Adding 30 ml panchagavya in 20 ltr water seems to be giving good results. I guess i have been using too much of panchagavya in container gardening. That could be one of the reasons why results were not good in soil media container gardening.

Jasmine plant transplanted from soil to aeroponics have started blooming.

Jasmine Blooming

Ladies finger or okra (my most favorite vegetable) has started to show out the roots.

Okra rooting

7 Replies to “Organic Aeroponic nutrient”

  1. Hi, Good to know about your success with aeroponics and organic fertilizer. I am very curious about this combination too. I am assuming you are spraying the organic concoction at the roots of the plant. My questions:
    1) did you face clogging issues with nozzles? How did you avoid? If you used filters, please provide the specs and stages at which you did the filtering.
    2) did you use high pressure aeroponics? What is the pressure range you are operating?

    Like

  2. I use the generic plastic nozzles. It is very cheap, but surprisingly does the job. No clogging till now. Have been using it for past 6 months. Using a very basic nylon filter. The one which is attached to house taps to filter out solid particles. Have placed this filter between the outlet of reservoir and the pump. A similar filter is kept at the inlet of reservoir as well. I.e., the used nutrient that returns to the reservoir. The point is to keep the nutrient in reservoir clean.

    Since, I have kept the growing containers out in the sun, i had algae problems. Sorted it out by painting the buckets some dark colour.

    High pressure is nothing but the diaphragm type pumps that is generally used in RO water systems. It can pump up to 100 psi. My system might be working is much lesser pressure as i have connected the pump directly to nozzles. But, I get good enough force in the spray and fine mist. If the number of plants are to be increased, i will have to install a pressure tank to utilize the complete power of diaphragm pump.

    Like

    1. Thank you, what are the specs of these nozzles? Can I buy them online? Will it be possible for you to put more details of your setup.

      Fyi, I have put together a prototype with pressure tank/switch/filters and just launched a basil stem cutting with nutes. My operating pressure is 80-110 psi. I use 0.3 mm orifice nozzle. Once it succeeds, I will scale it up. But I will like a simpler that is easily maintained, your simplicity interests me.

      Like

      1. Looks like you have already done it very professionally. Hope your plants respond well. I bought the nozzles from amazon.

        https://www.amazon.in/Generic-Sprinkler-Misting-Watering-14013863MG/dp/B019C58U64/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1506065623&sr=8-1&keywords=generic+nozzles

        My setup is quite simple:

        A home made 555 based asynchronous timer. I generally keep 10 seconds ON and 17 minutes OFF. My timer has limitation of 17 minutes max lap time. Planning to buy an industrial timer.

        110 PSI diaphragm pump, reservoir, nozzles and 16mm/4mm pipes to carry and return nutes.

        Have placed the reservoir, timer and pump indoor. The plants are kept outdoor with shade nets. Sometimes, the nutrition gets hot. Need to install some cooling system.Thinking of Peltier module based cooling system. But, it would consume more power.

        Do you do it completely indoor with temperature control and LED lights?

        Like

      2. Thank you for the quick response. I am still observing the plant growth, my system failed twice and I have resurrected it the 3rd time and my cuttings are barely 2 weeks old, the root hairs have just started developing. I have been iterating with just water, water + nutes to see how the plants respond and this week I have positioned them for better sunlight. More than rate of growth, I am looking for how long plants sustain in this system. It is a pain and I invested a lot of time in this. The returns are slow.

        W.r.to your system, I will advise you to measure the outlet pressure. For Panchagavya to be effective, the biology needs to be alive, which requires a pressure less than 30-40 psi. At high pressures, the micro organisms do not survive and the water becomes sterile.

        The holy grail system or “ecoponics” as I call it is one which operates at low pressure of 35psi enabling biology and organic nutes plus simpler to maintain wihout the painful nozzle cost of nozzles monitoring or maintenance.

        Like

  3. Correction: 35 psi, organic nutes, low maintenance, minimum droplet size(mist) and efficient water usage all with a simpler system. This will be a boon for farmers and will fast-track technology adoption for farming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

